Priest accused of sexual misconduct again


Priest accused of sexual misconduct again

Read more: http://www.wcpo.com/dpp/news/local_news/priest-accused-of-sexual-misconduct-again#ixzz24Ni1NvOO

A priest that was a member of the Glenmary Home Missioners, a Catholic society in Fairfield of priests and brothers who are dedicated to establishing a Catholic presence in rural areas and small towns of the United States, has been alleged to have engaged in sexual misconduct for a second time.

Authorities allege that Father Bob Poandl was involved in an incident that took place in the 1980s in the diocese of Savannah, Georgia. A police report containing these allegations was filed on July 14 with the Union County (Ga.) Sheriff’s Department.

Poandl had originally been accused in February of child sex abuse that occurred 30 years ago in West Virginia.

Poandl was brought back to Cincinnati and relieved of his duties following the first set of allegations, the charges of which were dismissed by a West Virginia judge. Poandl has been living at Glenmary’s Cincinnati residence since then and has not been functioning as a priest.

“I have requested a copy of the July 14 police report,” Father Artysiewicz, president of the Glenmary Home Missioners, said. “We have also been in contact with the district attorney in Blairsville, Ga., who was also not aware of the police report. Once I receive the report, Glenmary will begin a preliminary investigation. We don’t know anything about the accuser at this time, but it’s my hope that I can find a way to reach out to this person as soon as possible.”

“Glenmary is committed, first and foremost, to making every possible effort to prevent misconduct by any of its members,” Father Artysiewicz said. “And we also remain committed to facilitating healing for all those involved in any instances of sexual misconduct by providing an open, compassionate pastoral response.”

About victimsofrapebythercc

The Catechism offers a clear moral teaching: "Rape is the forcible violation of the sexual intimacy of another person. It does injury to justice and charity. Rape deeply wounds the respect, freedom, and physical and moral integrity to which every person has a right. It causes grave damage that can mark the victim for life. It is always an intrinsically evil act. Graver still is the rape of children committed by parents (incest) or those responsible for the education of the children entrusted to them." (no. 2356) Note that rape is "an intrinsically evil act," meaning that it is evil at its very root, nothing justifies it, and it is objectively a mortal sin. An evil act was done against me, a crime, by a priest at St Thomas More Parish in Durham, NH. An evil and a crime I will no longer keep silent about. Those who perpetrate crimes against children, especially those of the Roman Catholic Church, should all be punished for their crimes against children. Anything less would be criminal.

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Religion, Roman Catholic Church, Roman Catholic Church Sex Abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Actually .. This is a 3rd victim who has accused Poandl of sexual abuse while he was located in Blairsville, Ga. This very brave victim filed the police report on July 14th in Union county GA.
    We did a press event in Atlanta today, reaching out to other victims of Poandl. We worry that he may have abused kids while he was in Savannah, Ga.. He was put back into ministry soon after the trial that was dismissed on a technicality, in 2010.

    How many victims is needed to get this predator priest in jail? He needs to be kept far away from children.
    It is time for the church officials to start being honest, and to start protecting kids, instead of protecting the predators.

    Let’s hope that every person who saw, suspected or may have suffered sex crimes by Fr “Bob” Poandl, will find the courage and strength to speak up, and contact police.
    Keep in mind your silence only hurts, and by speaking up there is a chance for healing, exposing the truth, and therefore protecting others.

    Judy Jones, SNAP Midwest Associate Director, USA, 636-433-2511. snapjudy@gmail.com,
    (SNAP, the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests,)

    Read more: http://www.wcpo.com/dpp/news/local_news/priest-accused-of-sexual-misconduct-again#ixzz24OEBXwsF

    • That is why I re-posted it here Judy. Hopefully this will help get the word out to other hidden victims of this psycho-sexual pedophile pervert and help them come forward.

      • Thank you so much….. Judy

      • I want to tell you why Judy I do not really associate myself with your organization but believe me I do support it. I get down and dirty when I speak out against the Pedophile Church. I tell it like it is. I insult, denigrate and slam the Pope and all the rest. I have absolutely no fear of them at all any more. I just do not want a backlash on you, or SNAP for the way I speak out. I know Pig Face Bill Donohue loves to attack SNAP as well as his butt buddy Dolan. I do not want to give them any ammunition to use against you guys by what I say about them. Realize this though, you can believe that I stand behind all of you, I support all of you. I thank all of you for what you do and continue to do for us survivors….but I am on a different path in my attacks against these Pedophile Pimps and scum. I will speak the way I wish to them and I do not fear them. I hope I give them nightmares by what I say. I hope they have the same nightmares I have suffered from for decades, of being gang raped by the demons of hell. For if there is any justice, if there is any Karma, if there truly is a hell, then it is these scum who belong there, getting gang raped by the demons for what they have done to all of us.So I get rude, crude and socially unacceptable….on these sick and twisted pedophiles.

        Brightest blessings on this holiday for you and every one at SNAP.

      • Check out this posting I did a few days ago, it contains a link for signing a petition to establish a national commission to investigate organizational Child Sex Abuse and is going to the President.

        https://rapevictimsofthecatholicchurch.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/establish-a-national-commission-to-investigate-organizational-child-sexual-abuse-and-identify-federal-responses/

Leave a Reply

